Welcome to St. Andrew's Stone Church, located in the beautiful Caledon Hills north of Toronto. The congregation began in the late 1820s by meeting in Allen McKinnon’s barn, on what is now known as St. Andrew's Road, between Charleston Sideroad and Escarpment Sideroad in Caledon, Ontario. McKinnon and his wife donated a one-acre piece of property located on west ½ Lot 12 , Concession 5 WHS, in Caledon Township to the Presbyterian Church, on which a small log structure was built. In 1853, the congregation built the charming one-room fieldstone church we see still standing today. The 150th year anniversary in 2003 marked the start of the restoration project. Volunteers have since spent countless hours working inside and outside the church in addition to several trade professionals who have been employed to do the more difficult and technical work. To date the major exterior renovations have been done and we are now concentrating on the interior of the church.
Even while restorations are continually under way, the church is available for weddings, christenings, memorials, and concerts. Additionally, the church is recognized as an annual meeting place for our Scottish Afternoon and Scottish Christmas Evening. Early in 2003, Friends of St. Andrew’s was incorporated as a not-for-profit corporation in the Province of Ontario, and is affiliated with the Ontario Historical Society. As well, we have been granted charitable status, so that all donations towards St. Andrew's Stone Church are given charitable receipts.